UA-8412995-1 The Southport Globe: Annual Hoyt O. Perry Independence Regatta

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Annual Hoyt O. Perry Independence Regatta

Winners were Michael Solazzo, first; Chris Jennings, second and Nan Jackson, third.  It turned out to be a beautiful morning and twelve boats participated. Chris Jennings fought the good fight in defending his trophy, but went down to Michael Solazzo’s skills at the start and getting to the windward mark ahead of everyone else. 

The wind was gusty and shifty and, coming in from the Southeast, created lots of wind shadows from boats moored in the harbor.  Challenging conditions but a lot of fun for all of us. Betsy Hulme set the marks and rescued errant sailors with style and grace. Diana Schluter and Laura Wilbur ran the Race Committee with a firm hand and ready aplomb. Liz Solazzo supervised the starting gun and brought several trays of fantastic edibles which disappeared quickly.  John Levinson awarded the prizes and he and Ellen gave us a wonderful venue for our event, a gorgeous lawn and flags flying! Jan Perry graced us with her appearance, accompanied by her daughter Laurie.

-E.Packer Wilbur

No comments: