UA-8412995-1 The Southport Globe: 32nd Annual Meeting of The Southport Conservancy

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

32nd Annual Meeting of The Southport Conservancy

The Southport Conservancy held its 32nd Annual Meeting on June 4th at Eagle Hill School to an audience of neighbors and local public officials. Chairman Laura Fasano welcomed everyone with the Conservancy mission statement and a review of the past year under her leadership. Joe Rainis was presented with the Southport Conservancy Service Award for his efforts to preserve Ye Yacht Yard. Upon thanking her board for their hours of commitment to the Conservancy, Fasano turned the meeting over to the in-coming Chairman, Jeremy Frost, who introduced the 2014-15 Board of Directors. Frost reviewed the Town's progress of post-Sandy restoration of the Oar House area at Ye Yacht Yard, and then turned the meeting over to the guest speaker, the Director of Community and Economic Development for the Town of Fairfield, Mark Barnhart. 
During his presentation on "Affordable Housing and What it means for Fairfield", there was a lively exchange of ideas with the audience. Barnhart explained that the Town is revising its Affordable Housing Plan in an effort to garner enough points to qualify for a 4 year moratorium on 8-30g, the state statute that permits developers to apply for density greater than what local regulations allow in exchange for planning multi-family housing with units set aside as affordable. The revisions are expected to be completed this summer.
2014 Southport Conservancy Service Award recipient Joe Rainis with his family.

Featured speaker Mark Barnhart
(l-r) Jeremy Frost, Eric Sundman, Laura Fasano, George Russell - Sasquanaug President,
and State Representative Tony Hwang.

No comments: